Paradise Springs Winery and an Assessment of Virginia Wine

What am I most known for around my circle of friends?  The wine nerd… that annoying guy that always talks about wine and BS that no one but wine snobs care about… It’s a little like art dorks; always describing the “feel,” or how art “stirs the emotions.”  That is of course how us wine nerds “feel” about wine… except that after a few tasting, we are definitely feeling it.  My point?

For those of us that are fortunate enough to live in states or nations that have a sizable wine growing industry, we FEEL lucky.  I mean, who can criticize great-tasting alcohol within reach?  For those who have broken through the barrier of “I like this wine… I don’t like that one,” you have at least begun developing your palate.  In doing so you have begun to understand how wine on your palate begins to stir your emotions (BEFORE the alcohol has set in, of course).  Now, after the transition from “Yum!” to “Hmmmmm,”  you begin to wonder where and how this wine is made.  Holy smokes!!!  You mean I can drive only X miles to VISIT this winery???  So you roll up to the winery that you never knew was near you and lo and behold, they produce several different wines.  Bottom line:  wine seems to be much better when you’re tasting AT the winery (perhaps with some cheese), than when you’re choosing among thousands at your local Total Wine, or wherever, right?  Now, add a well-designed ambiance that includes cool, lounge music, a woodsy decor, terrific, friendly, and KNOWLEDGEABLE service, and most importantly, great wine… I have just described Paradise Springs Winery.

My wife and I visited the winery together for the first time late Saturday afternoon and it was PACKED.  It’s because the wine is really well made, AND it’s because the staff knows what they’re doing and what they’re talking about; and not just concerning the winery.  The staffers understand wine, specifically Virginia wine (because they’ve tasted around the state), but also wines around the world.  Let’s be honest.  When we drink wine, we normally compare it to others we’ve had recently.  when I taste Virginia wine for the first time at a winery I’ve never been too, I instantly compare it to other VA wineries I like, but I also leap to compare to other regions in the world.  In this case, usually France because Virginia wineries produce wines from mostly French grapes (Cabernet Franc/Sauvignon, Petit Verdot, Tannat, Viognier, Chardonnay, etc.)  I simply can’t help comparing Virginia and France because in my opinion I feel that Virginia’s terroir helps produce wine similar to Old World wines, particularly France.  First timers tasting in Virginia:  please don’t compare to California, or you’ll be grossly disappointed.  Go ahead and set your comparison palates to Europe.

Why do I even bother to discuss this?  People can’t help comparing things, and since the red grape of Virginia is Cabernet Franc and the white, Viognier, the unsuspecting patron of a Virginia winery has to understand that both are only made in its single varietal in really two other places:  France and California.  Now here’s where my opinion comes in:  Paradise Springs Winery, as well as others I will focus on in the coming weeks, produce some of the best single variety Cabernet Franc and Viognier in Virginia; AND I STILL have yet to taste California and French versions that wholly compare.  Bold words, huh?  Well, I have taken the Pepsi challenge by blind tasting from each region, and I’ve chosen Virginia Cabernet France five out of the six times (A rare and highly rated French Cabernet Franc won out once).  So when you’re in the DC Metro area, or if you live nearby, visit Paradise Springs Winery.  I know you’ll be surprised, and I’m sure you’ll stick around after the tasting to have a glass.

In case you’re interested in joining their wine club:  three bottles selected by the winery can be sent to your home, or you can pick up, once a quarter (15% discount), and four free tastings for you, the significant other, and two of your closest wine nerd (or virgin) friends each time you visit.  Wine prices from about $22.

ImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Paradise Springs Winery and an Assessment of Virginia Wine”

  1. I was under the impression that Norton was the Virginia red grape varietal. Just google “Virginia red grape varietal”. However, cab franc is my personal favorite red grape.

    Like

    1. You’re absolutely correct. After all, a French grape can’t be the official red grape of an American state… That would be un-American. But let’s face it, Cabernet Franc is much more prevalent in Virginia, and more successfully produced into a high-class dry red. In the very unfortunate few mainstream press that Virginia wine has received, Cabernet Franc (and Viognier as the white) is the recognized king of Virginia wine. Thank you very much for your comment. I hope you’ll look me up in future posts. My aim is to help put Virginia on the same footing as other states such as California and Oregon.

      Like

Leave a comment